

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the Property Institute of New Zealand

Wednesday 14 July 2021 4.30 pm

Cordis Hotel Auckland

Attendees:	Approximately 217 members
President:	Luke van den Broek
CEO:	Viv Gurrey
Minutes:	Robyn Matthews

Г

1.	Velcome	
	The Chief Executive Officer Viv Gurrey provided a welcoming address and introduced the President, Luke van den Broek.	
	The President formally opened the meeting and welcomed all attendees to the AGM of the Property Institute of New Zealand.	
2.	Apologies	
	Apologies were received from David Key and Graham Horsley.	
	Leonie Freeman was noted as an apology from the floor.	
3.	Proxies	
	Proxy votes were received from David Keys, Patrick Gavaghan, Michelle McKellar, Bruce Morrison.	
	No proxy votes have been received by those named proxy voters.	

4.	Minutes of previous meeting
	The minutes of the 2020 AGM held on 16 September 2020 were available on the Institute's website and were distributed at the point of registration.
	Motion: That the minutes of the AGM held on 16 September 2020 be taken as read and confirmed as a true and correct record.
	Proposed: Ian Brown Seconded: Steve Bown <u>CARRIED</u>
5.	Matters Arising
	Nil.
6.	Receive and adopt the Annual Report
	Presidents Report The President advised that irrespective of the challenges arising from Covid 19, PINZ has continued to focus on the review of the overarching purpose and strategy of PINZ which will be shared at the opening of the conference tomorrow morning.
	The President recognised the support of each member of the Property Institute Board for their work to ensure the Institute delivered on its promises to the individual communities and its members.
	The President thanked all the individuals who completed the President's member survey, took part in focus groups and community strategy sessions.
	The President acknowledged the following Chairs and their respective Boards and committees - Blue Hancock, Standards Board; David Paterson, Professional Conduct Committee; Patrick O'Reilly, Finance Audit and Risk Committee and the 17 Branch Chairs throughout NZ.
	The President acknowledged and thanked, on behalf of the Board, the PINZ Chief Executive Officer Viv Gurrey and the National Support Team for their exceptional work in the last 12 months.
	The President acknowledged the significant contribution of the departing NZIV President Jeff Alexander who has governed the NZIV Council and the Valuation profession with steadfast professionalism and integrity.
	The President acknowledged the Board's Independent Director Phillip Merfield who is retiring after serving some 16 years on the Board providing wise counsel, humour and unwavering commitment to the Institute.
	The President asked that his report be received and formally adopted as part of the Annual Report.

	The President noted that the 2020 Annual Report was distributed to all members electronically and uploaded to the PINZ website on 24 June 2021.
	Motion: That the Property Institute of New Zealand Annual Report for the year ended 31 December 2020 be received and adopted.
	Proposed: Greg Ball Seconded: Terry Naylor <u>CARRIED</u>
7.	Receive and adopt the audited financial statements for the previous financial year
	The President advised that the financial statements for the year ended 31 December 2020 are included in the Annual Report which was distributed electronically and uploaded to the PINZ website on 24 June 2021.
	The Chief Executive Officer provided an overview of the financial report.
	<i>Motion</i> That the audited financial statements for the year ending 31 December 2020 be received and adopted.
	Proposed: Alastair Wing Seconded: Callum Taylor <u>CARRIED</u>
9.	Announcement of Fellows
	Marvin CLOUGH and Martin VEALE.
8.	Life Membership
	Phillip Allen CURNOW.
	The Board recommended that Phillip Curnow be advanced to the status of Life Member of the Property Institute of NZ. This advancement was acknowledged by acclamation.
10.	Announcement of appointment of Board Members
	The President thanked Phillip Merfield, who was retiring as Independent Director for the Board, for his contribution and dedication.

	The President congratulated Boris Babic for being re-elected onto the Board unopposed, as the Northern Region representative.
	The President thanked Des Wai for his contribution and commitment to the Board as the Chair of the Institute of Property Advisors and Consultants.
	The President welcomed Ian Brown, the new Chair of the Institute of Property Advisors and Consultants.
	The PINZ Board for 2021-2022:
	Luke van den Broek – President and Southern Region Representative Adam Binns – incoming NZ Institute of Valuers President Heather Beard - NZIV Council Representative Ian Brown - Institute of Property Advisors and Consultants Chair Phil Porteous - Commercial Property Managers Institute Chair Steve Bown - Plant and Machinery Valuers Institute Chair David Pearse - Property Managers Institute President Boris Babic - Northern Region Representative Ben Gill - Central Region Representative and Vice President Daniel Gerrand - Young Leader Representative TBA - Independent Director The President advised that confirmation of the President, Vice President and Independent Director positions for 2021/2022 would take place at a breakfast meeting tomorrow morning. The President thanked Board Members for their continuing service to the Institute.
11.	Appointment of Auditors
	Motion: That Grant Thornton be re-appointed as the Property Institute of New Zealand auditors until the end of the current financial year 31 December 2021. Proposed: Ben Gill Seconded: Nigel Kenny <u>CARRIED</u>
12.	Notices of Motion
	No remits were received.
13.	General Business
	No general business was raised.

14.	Closure of Meeting
	The President thanked everyone for their attendance and closed the meeting.
	The meeting closed at 5.14 pm.